Looking for 10 year fixed rate mortgage with lowest exit fees- any suggestions?

Options
hi All
I need to switch from the tracker to fixed rate and i would like 10 year fixed rate mortgage.
I need to borrow 60k(property 310k).
Can anybody suggest the deal with the least exit or overpayment fees?
Are there any tricks or gotchas that i should be aware off?
If i am in fixed deal and theoretically would like to pay everything off on the next month of mortgage - will i pay a fixed percentage of the payed amount?
Best Regards

Comments

• amnblog
    amnblog Posts: 12,445 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Why would you want the commitment of a 10 year rate and then be focused on low exit fees?
    I am a Mortgage Broker

You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Broker, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • Newbie_John
    Newbie_John Posts: 460 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    FirstDirect ha sno overpayment limits.

Now exit fees, wouldn't be better to take 5x 2 years fixed deals? When you product transfer every 2 years it's all hassle free and takes few seconds - no need for remortgagiong every 2 yeras and get the freedom of leaving whenever you wish.
  • mrstingy2022
    mrstingy2022 Posts: 54 Forumite
    Options
    amnblog said:
    Why would you want the commitment of a 10 year rate and then be focused on low exit fees?
    i am pesimistic about economic outlook so if there is major colapse i might not get a remortgage after 2 years. Id rather play it safer
  • mrstingy2022
    Options