Cash Purchase - Money Laundering Source of Funds proof

Options
I've seen a few threads about cash purchase previously but none seem to cover what is required for proof of funds. A thread on the investment board with someone needing to prove the source of the savings got me thinking what would be needed by a solicitor if you're buying a house for cash. The money has sat in an ISA for the last 8 years, would that be sufficient proof or would they need to see from beyond that date?
Remember the saying: if it looks too good to be true it almost certainly is.

Comments

• amnblog
    amnblog Posts: 12,445 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    edited 8 March at 3:32PM
    Options
    An ISA is not 'cash', it is an investment

'Cash' is Cash

It has been there some time so the statement should be sufficient
    I am a Mortgage Broker

You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Broker, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • amanda1024
    amanda1024 Posts: 409 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    amnblog said:

'Cash' is Cash

Even the government calls them cash ISAs: https://www.gov.uk/individual-savings-accounts
    I had understood ‘investments’ to be stocks and shares and that sort of thing, rather than savings accounts
  • born_again
    born_again Posts: 14,474 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    jimjames said: