Tax Credits to UC - in person identity checks only?

Options
We are in the midst of the painful process of migrating from TC to UC. We applied for UC on our migration deadline 23rd Feb, there was an option to "approve identity online via Government Gateway", we did this but it doesn't work. Turns out UC stopped using this in January but all their info on the website says that applicants can easily prove identity online. So it said we would get a phonecall within 2-3 days - we didn't. Instead an email on 6th March saying we have an appointment at the job centre for an id check 21 March. We can't make this date (hubby works full time, I'm a part-time student and self-employed part-time - I have said what weekdays I could make), we've added a note to our journals and are awaiting a reply... My Questions are...

• why are we "proving our identity" with a million and one documents when we have been claiming child tax credits for many years (kids aged between 12 & 18)? 
  • why on earth can't this be done online or by video call? Has anyone managed to have this?
  • are full time workers expected to take time off to attend appointments?
  • will this delay calculations to entitlement? How long does this take?
Sorry if I am coming across all ranty - I needed an outlet! I was never a huge fan of the seemingly random Tax Credits calculations and procedures, but the UC process is no improvement  :'(

Comments

• Newcad
    Newcad Posts: 924 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    edited 8 March at 6:23PM
    Options
    You need to verify your ID to (help) avoid fraudulent claims.
    Gateway is the easiest and I have not heard about it being stopped -;there have been a few outages reported but all websites have outages.
    Gateway cannot be used by everyone. (I have no passport or driving licence so when I moved to UC 14 months ago I had no chance of using it).