Microsoft Office subscription

Options
Cazzaroo
Cazzaroo Posts: 135 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
edited 27 February at 10:44AM in Student MoneySaving
Hi,

I'm a mum of a undergraduate Uni student.  My annual MS Office subscription came out of my account today.  On doing a bit of searching, I found out that if an account is set up using my son's Uni email address, he can get it for free.

He has an Apple laptop.

My question is, will it still work on his laptop (there is something about PC only) and can I use it as well on my desktop?  

Thanks in advance.

Caz
Treat others how you would like to be treated. 🤞

Comments

• Mark_d
    Mark_d Posts: 430 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    It appears that only your son can get Office for free.  You would need to buy a licence or pay a subscription
  • DullGreyGuy
    DullGreyGuy Posts: 10,464 Forumite
    Options
    Office 365 is OS agnostic however certain apps are only available on certain platforms. So if he subscribes to the free tier he'll be able to run Excel, Word etc but if he paid for the higher tier then Publisher, Access are Windows only.
  • Mr.Generous
    Mr.Generous Posts: 3,379 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Cheaper to buy an office licence from someone like Gamers Outlet - Office Proffessional Pro for less than £10. You buy the licence and they take you to a download for the correct version for your PC / laptop / Mac.

They do work, do update, and are genuine copies. Cheaper than a subscription.

• DullGreyGuy
    Options
    Cheaper to buy an office licence from someone like Gamers Outlet - Office Proffessional Pro for less than £10. You buy the licence and they take you to a download for the correct version for your PC / laptop / Mac.

How is £10 cheaper than £0?
    If you read the feedback it also says that it doesn't work on a Mac which the OP states its to be installed on