Employment Status changed from Employed to Self-employed

Options

I have been doing the same driving job for the past six years, working for an employment agency under a temporary seasonal contract, which could last anywhere between eight and eleven months. They provide drivers for a very specific roll to another international company who themselves are an intermediary and carry out the day to day operations as required for the project.  Under the original contract I have always been classed as employed for tax purposes, and I worked a set 40 hours per week, 8 till 5, Monday to Friday, with an hour lunch break and received holiday pay.

However this year my employment agency has refused to tender for the contract, due to the draconian terms and conditions introduced by the operations company. And so a new employment agency has been appointed and they require drivers to be classed as self-employed, even though I will be doing exactly the same job as before. In addition, I will no longer be paid for the time taken to commute to and from the various locations, which could be up to an hour or more each way, potentially making 10 or even 12 hour days, but they would still only pay for 40 hours a week. They even require me to make up the lost time by working on a Saturday, and I will no longer receive holiday pay. There are other changes to the contract which I cannot mention here. The new company must have tendered a very low offer in order to win the contract, but then realised they will need to cut costs to make a profit.