Inheritance tax loan

Options
marc3
marc3 Posts: 305 Forumite
First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
I dont lose sight of fact that medium term i an probably grateful for most likely inheriting a bit of money, but short term -causes major headache as no money to pay inheritance tax which has to be paid 6 months post death and before can receive any money from the estate  ,which is probably 12 months hence
only choice seems to be an IHT loan.(i am sole beneficiary but no will so it all takes about a year to sort /letter of administartion application etc etc 

I have no experience of inheritance tax loans.

can anybody offer guidance/recommendation of good/bad providers -or viable alternatives (dont seem to be any as HMRC seem totally inflexible .

thoughts /guidance appreciated

thank you 

Comments

• MattMattMattUK
    MattMattMattUK Posts: 8,682 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    marc3 said:
    I dont lose sight of fact that medium term i an probably grateful for most likely inheriting a bit of money, but short term -causes major headache as no money to pay inheritance tax which has to be paid 6 months post death and before can receive any money from the estate  ,which is probably 12 months hence
    only choice seems to be an IHT loan.(i am sole beneficiary but no will so it all takes about a year to sort /letter of administartion application etc etc 

I have no experience of inheritance tax loans.

can anybody offer guidance/recommendation of good/bad providers -or viable alternatives (dont seem to be any as HMRC seem totally inflexible .

thoughts /guidance appreciated

thank you