What other fund shall I invest in?

ShinyStarlight1
ShinyStarlight1 Posts: 29
First Post First Anniversary
Forumite
edited 10 February at 12:12PM in Savings & investments
Hello All

I would like to put £10k in an investment to complement my existing Vanguard Target Retirement 2030 fund. I am new to investing but realise I need to invest in a diversified way.

I am comfortable taking a risk up to 5/7 and intend to invest for approximately 6 years. There is no specific thing I am investing for.

Are there any accumulating investments you would suggest I take a closer look at?

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 29,811
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Forumite
    That fund is already well diversified, so there's no harm in adding something complementary if there's something specific that you're looking to add that isn't already covered, but there's no need to add something else just for the sake of it.
  • Linton
    Linton Posts: 17,022
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Hung up my suit!
    Forumite
    When you say investing for approximately 6 years do you mean cash it all in (or buy an annuity) at that time? If so 6 years is too short a time period for serious investing.  If you dont mean sell the investment in 6 years, what do you mean?

Anything niche you  may want to cover would be likely to incur a higher risk.

• ColdIron
    ColdIron Posts: 8,652
    Forumite
    edited 10 February at 12:59PM
    I need to invest in a diversified way.
    It's pretty diversified already. Getting on for 10,000 companies across the globe and well in excess of 25,000 bond holdings. Holding a lifestyling fund for only 6 years seems a bit pointless but if you added anything to it, it would only further negate whatever minimal benefit it had
  • ShinyStarlight1
    ShinyStarlight1 Posts: 29
    First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    edited 10 February at 1:02PM
    Linton said: