Gas bill / boiler issue??

50NY4
50NY4 Posts: 3
First Post
Hi im wondering if anyone can help.

I live in a semi 3 bed for 6 years ... i understand bills have gone up. but ours seems to be quite high when i compare it to my mums, who is with another company, but tbh the prices from company to company are not that much different. I don't think we use too much heating but hey im not an expert so i dont know where we are going wrong. We provide a meter reading each month.

We have a smart meter but it only works for electricity and not the gas - have called out the supplier but for some reason this can not be fixed :-( 

My boiler is probably over 10 years old, we have roughly 11 radiators. I cook every other day, do not spend too much time having a shower, also have 2 kids under 10.

I understand its currently cold so therefore we maybe using a little more heat at this time of the year but £360 for gas seems a lot compared to my mums who lives in a 4 bed 3 storey semi which has around 14 radiators and she cooks every day. Her bill for gas was £133 for December.

Could it be that my boiler is not energy efficient, or could my gas meter in the garage be faulty ..?

Im clueless with all of this stuff so any advice would be highly appreciated ... would just like to know what things ti need to check or who to contact to check what the issues could be ..? 

Thanking you in advance - Sonya

Comments

• FreeBear
    FreeBear Posts: 14,229
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    edited 31 January at 10:08AM
    It is much easier to compare usage in terms of kWh rather than ££.
    Things that will have a direct bearing on usage -
    • Thermostat setting
    • Time heating is on
    • Outdoor temperature
    • Levels of insulation