Student Loans Company (SLC) - Am still paying is this right??

playaz
playaz Posts: 265
First Anniversary Combo Breaker
Forumite
edited 30 January at 9:13AM in Student MoneySaving
Hi everyone,
I am trying to ascertain about my student loan (feel free to move this thread to another section of the forum that is better suited).

I received a message from the SLC saying that as my loan is almost paid off, I have to pay the remaining balance off via direct debit (approx £2350) to prevent overpaying.

I have setup the payments for this all online, however it got me thinking. I graduated in 2004 (did 4 years at uni, 1 year was a flop so I changed to another course) - after uni I did temp work for a year then got a 'proper' IT job in 2005 although I don't believe I started earning over the threshold to pay it back (I believe it was £15,000 then) til 2008 (yeah my first job screwed me over for over 2 years...).

Since 2008 I have always worked excluding 1 year (when I took up a PGCE teaching course although didn't actually go in teaching but back into my previous industry).

So from 2008-2024 (excluding 1 year) I have always paid and nowadays i'm earning around 50k (so abit more than the national average) and it feels bizarre that my student loan STILL isn't fully paid off yet.

I want to speak to the Student Loans Company and get them to check this all out but I'd like some advice from others first who have been/or are in a similar position to me and how I should approach them first. 
Does anyone know what estimated duration to pay off a student loan would be for those who would be on Plan 1 (originally at uni from 2000-04).

Thanks in advance

Comments

• DrEskimo
    DrEskimo Posts: 2,334
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Forumite