Economy 7 rates v the energy price cap

Hi, Forum newbie here.
Hoping that some one can confirm if this is correct and what to do next.
I live in an electric only flat with an economy 7 contract with Octopus. The 2 old storage heaters in the bedrooms stopped working some time ago and so were replaced with modern electric panel heaters, which use day rate electricity. This leaves 2 older storage heaters in the living and kitchen areas and an immersion heater (which i don't use) on the economy7 meter.
I was suspicious of the economy7 meter readings so confirmed (by switching off the consumer unit) that the meter still increments usage when nothing is on. For this I've requested an engineer to confirm the malfunctioning meter.
Q is how to agree when this first started to fail. (as an example last august's bill was significant when there should also have been no usage) Im expecting some negotiation for a refund if the engineer can confirm the faulty meter. 
But the main questions is if the rates I'm being charged are correct and what i can do about it if they're not... Last year I was paying 33.33p/Kwh (day rate) and 13.87p/Kwh (night rate) when the unit price cap was 27.35p/Kwh. These figures have recently changed to 35.06p/Kwh (day rate) and 15.xxp/Kwh (night rate) while the price cap is 28.62p/Kwh.
The explanation from Octopus was
"As you have a cheaper night rate of 16p it averages out the day rate of 35p to be within the price cap yearly. We want customers on an economy 7 to always benefit from a lower night rate and this is how we are able to do so.
It is also how it keeps it fair for all of our customers. If you'd like to be swapped to a flat rate falling within the reported price cap please let me know. "