Alternative to Dell support

stevoh
stevoh Posts: 197
First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
Forumite
Hi All,

It may soon nuts but I'm new to owning a laptop. I've always used work laptops which have been supported and maintained by the company.

I have a Dell laptop and the support has expired. The quote to renew is really quite high, even for basic cover.

Does anyone know of an alternative? What do folk normally do? Just pay to get them repaired as required?

Comments

• Jon_01
    Jon_01 Posts: 5,863
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    Call Dell, speak to an agent, and tell them it's too much.  I did that and they dropped the price by almost half. . .
  • DullGreyGuy
    DullGreyGuy Posts: 9,202
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Yes, most will just pay on demand for the first X years of the laptops life and then use it as excuse to replace the laptop after X years. 

In 25 years of laptop use only had 2 repairs required, both were for physical damage and so wouldn't be covered by a warranty. The other computers got ill after 8 or more years of ownership so were replaced rather than repaired. 
  • victor2
    victor2 Posts: 7,516
    I'm a Volunteer Ambassador First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Ambassador
    stevoh said:
    Hi All,

It may soon nuts but I'm new to owning a laptop. I've always used work laptops which have been supported and maintained by the company.

I have a Dell laptop and the support has expired. The quote to renew is really quite high, even for basic cover.

Does anyone know of an alternative? What do folk normally do? Just pay to get them repaired as required?

Not sure what you meant to type in your first sentence, but anyway a few questions spring to mind:
    Is it for work or pleasure? If pleasure and you can live a day or two without it, forget any maintenance contract.