ADHD Debt - Millennial Learning to Change Relationship with Money

Hi people,

I was speaking to a friend about how we each first got into credit card debt and it came to my attention that I wasn't the only one who was 'convinced' into getting a credit card that spiralled into years of stress, grief and many creditors hanging over my head.

I remember going in to pay off my overdraft in Natwest, I'd been a customer with the bank since I was 16, so I'd imagine they could see my earnings and spending habits/ forecast. I remember being sat in one of the rooms in the bank with the bank manager and what I presumed was me just going in to decrease my overdraft limit with the intention of paying it off until I didn't have one anymore (terrible spending habits since I was a student). I remember listening to her unwarranted spiel about the difference between a borrower and a debtor and then being told I was a borrower and 'vulnerable' after being sold a credit card by being convinced there were benefits to having one.

It was very soon later that I'd maxed the credit card out, didn't really know about interest rates as I'd never dealt with them before and low and behold was offered a loan to cover the maxed out credit card.

I now had a credit card debt and a loan debt.

A job loss and no safety net or savings later soon rapidly spiralled into a 10k debt with Natwest and several other creditors, that followed by being hounded by Natwest, no idea of what to do next and eventually defaults with most creditors.

I was diagnosed with ADHD in December 2022. It made sense to me as to why I made such dismal financial mistakes.

I wanted to ask if anyone had a similar experience and if anyone has triumphed over offering a smaller lump sum to get rid of the debt hanging over their head?