Bush tv without aerial

baser999
baser999 Posts: 1,080
First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker
Forumite
edited 27 November 2023 at 8:23PM in Techie Stuff
My mother had a small Bush LED22134FHD tv in the bedroom in her flat but since she’s moved into a care home we thought we might as well use it ourselves. It was connected to an outdoor aerial at her place and I intended to buy a set top aerial so it could be used in a spare bedroom. Some appear to advertise themselves as being able to receive freeview? She only ever watched the five mainstream channels. If this is so, are they just plug and go? Anyone fitted one? 

Comments

  • HillStreetBlues
    HillStreetBlues Posts: 3,098
    Photogenic First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    edited 27 November 2023 at 8:33PM
    You should be able to just plug it in the aerial socket and away you go.
    Personally I've never had a decent picture on any indoor aerial I've used.
    Let's Be Careful Out There
  • DullGreyGuy
    DullGreyGuy Posts: 9,176
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Not 100% plug and play.... will need to run the tuner after plugging in the aerial to see what channels it can find.

    Assuming you have wifi then it may be better to buy something like an Amazon Firestick so you can use iPlayer etc for live TV but also any other solutions you subscribe to (eg Netflix etc) 
  • PHK
    PHK Posts: 1,141
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    You should be able to just plug it in the aerial socket and away you go.
    Personally I've never had a decent picture on any indoor aerial I've used.
    Yes, the digital TV system is designed fir an exterior aerial so it's not possible to say beforehand if it will get a decent signal. At this time of year a basic firestick or similar is cheaper than many indoor aerials. 
  • ballyblack
    ballyblack Posts: 5,051
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    edited 28 November 2023 at 9:44AM
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07P64MWFR/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    £10

    I bought one of these. work fine but not for all stations............it depends how far way you are from transmitter. I stuck it on the window

    Plug & Go.

     But I would advise tuning TV again to make sure you are getting most channels
  • cerebus
    cerebus Posts: 518
    First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    You need to plug the  bush telly into your main outdoor aeriel and tune it first then connect an indoor aeriel to it and align the aeriel to give you the best picture on all channels

    If you do it the other way around you will simply be guessing where to put the aeriel and it could take you hours of tuning and retuning to get it right 
  • Cisco001
    Cisco001 Posts: 4,003
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Forumite
    indoor aerial should do the job. i used to have them because my aerial not at the location I want.

Meet your Ambassadors

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 341.8K Banking & Borrowing
  • 249.7K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 449.2K Spending & Discounts
  • 233.9K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 606.1K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 172.5K Life & Family
  • 246.8K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 15.8K Discuss & Feedback
  • 15.1K Coronavirus Support Boards