Promotion increase

Hi all, I recently got promoted to a senior role which meant my job responsibilities and hours have changed. I work as a senior receptionist in a GP surgery. As a senior, I now have more admin tasks, have to help the junior receptionist as well as run the surgery when the other senior staff go home-I am the night senior. 

I work part time 23.5hrs/week, Wednesday-Friday with 1/4 Saturday’s. As a junior receptionist I use to rotate my hours. 1 week early (8-4) 1 week late (12-8) but now I only work lates. I have two young children so barely get to see them on work days due to early school start and my late finish. 

So considering my new hours and responsibilities I thought I would get a higher increase. However all I got was 30p. Which works out just under 3% as I get paid minimum wage. Working out £7.05 extra a week! I am told that the will be reviewed after my 3-6months probationary period, but if the are low balling me now i doubt i can expect more after. 

And an FYI, i started training for the role 15 weeks ago, and have been fully doing the job for about 9 weeks. Only now have i got a formal offer and in this time have not been compensated for my new role. 

To me this seems very unreasonable as the job is very stressful and the late hours aren’t ideal. 

So my question is, what is an acceptable increase for a promotion with a change in hours and a lot more responsibility. 

Comments

• EnPointe
    EnPointe Posts: 254
    First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    various organisation  have policies such as ' a minimum of 5 % ' or ' the the next incremental point that results in a raise ( where there is an overlap)  
  • El_Torro
    El_Torro Posts: 1,424
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Forumite
    This is one of the side effects of an increasing minimum wage. The wages just above minimum wage get squeezed since the employer is not legally forced to pay more for those roles.