Investing for my daughter’s future

Options
My four year old daughter is set to inherit around £30,000, and we’re very grateful on her behalf of course.

With her entitlement to £9000 in an ISA being less than that of an adult (and even that is less than £30k), we’re unsure how to invest this wisely on her behalf. 

We’d hate for her to decide at 18 that she wants to !!!!!! it away on a flash car rather than use it towards a house, so we could invest it in a LISA and essentially “lock it away” in one, and “inject” £9k every year until it’s all in there. However I’m new to all this, and I’m not certain this is the best way to maximise her time advantage and use compound interest to maximise the returns. 

There is so much all over the internet and I don’t know where to start!

Comments

• ColdIron
    ColdIron Posts: 9,149 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    The maximum LISA contribution is £4,000 not £9,000 but it doesn't matter as she cannot open a LISA until she is 18
  • xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,582 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    https://www.gov.uk/junior-individual-savings-accounts

You might consider opening a  Junior ISA with £9000 - as she is so young, a stocks and shares option for the whole £9000 might be suitable but there is also the cash option /mix and match.

Fidelity or Hargreaves Lansdown might suit as a platform.

https://monevator.com/investment-portfolio-examples/

https://monevator.com/best-global-tracker-funds/comment-page-1/

The balance could be held in a child account - example

https://www.ybs.co.uk/savings/product?id=ONEDAY

and then gradually invested in the JISA as desired over the next three tax years.
  • cloud_dog
    cloud_dog Posts: 6,063 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    My four year old daughter is set to inherit around £30,000, and we’re very grateful on her behalf of course.