Services charges

Options
Please help!
I purchased a leasehold flat in Aug 2022. I was told by my solicitor that I had to pay an apportionment for the Service Charges of £54 (as the seller had paid for the year) and was told this would be paid up until March 2023 (However the breakdown was stated as Jan- Dec?). This is my first time buying a leasehold property so I assumed the solicitors knew what they were doing without querying it further.
In April 2023 I received my service charge bill for £185. I immediately queried this to be told that the bill was for Apr 22- Mar 2023 and the bills were sent in arrears. I advised them I had only been in the property since August but they replied that apportionment should have been arranged, the debt is for the property so I am liable and basically they will keep chasing me. I told them I wouldn't be paying and they gave me an extension so that I could discuss and try to fix with my solicitor. 
My solicitor was not helpful and eventually stopped all contact (I then found she had left on maternity). Months later someone from the solicitors has got back to after speaking to the sellers solicitor saying that "they would agree to refund your clients the service charge apportionment of £54 which was paid by your clients upon completion of sale and this will be in full and final settlement of this issue".
And now.. I am stuck! What can I do to resolve this other than give in and pay the full years bill.
I realise this will probably not work out to a huge amount (£60 or so) but with all the other issues I have had with the property and the current cost of living crisis, I am really adamant that I do not want to pay this horrible mans bill. 
Is this my fault for not having a clue or should I hold my solicitor responsible...??

Comments

• Nearlyold
    Nearlyold Posts: 2,292 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    Options