Questions about replacing car tyres

Options
dhokes
dhokes Posts: 313 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
I recently took my Suzuki Swift for an MOT and I need to replace a tyre soon. I have very little knowledge about them so I had a few questions.

Current tyres:
NSF: 185/55R16 87V
NSR: 185/55R16 83V
OSF: 185/55R16 87V
OSR: 185/55R16 83V

1. Currently, the front tyres support different weight to my back. When it comes to replacing them, should I get the same weight or does it not matter wether I get 87V or 83V as long as they’re the same on the axil?

2. I’m planning to purchase and get them fitted through BlackCircles. Is it standard/expected that they will replace the pressure values or would I need to pay for that? How much should I expect to pay? They’re currently worn out with missing dust caps!

3. Out of these three, which tyres would you pick?

A - YOKOHAMA 185/55R16 87H YOKOHAMA BLUE-A AE50 XL - £100

B - YOKOHAMA 185/55R16 83V YOKO BLUEARTH-ES ES32 - £100

C - Hankook Kinergy 4S 2 185/55 R16 87V- £109

Comments

• tifo
    tifo Posts: 1,938 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Most tyre places put new rubber valves in unless they're TPMS sensors. And valve caps (can be bought 4 for £1)
  • dhokes
    Options
    tifo said:
    Most tyre places put new rubber valves in unless they're TPMS sensors. And valve caps (can be bought 4 for £1)

I think they're TPMS sensors as my dashboard can show a flat tyre logo but I'm not sure. Is there any way to confirm?
  • CliveOfIndia
    Options
    dhokes said:

Current tyres:
    NSF: 185/55R16 87V
    NSR: 185/55R16 83V
    OSF: 185/55R16 87V
    OSR: 185/55R16 83V

1. Currently, the front tyres support different weight to my back. When it comes to replacing them, should I get the same weight or does it not matter wether I get 87V or 83V as long as they’re the same on the axil?