167891012»

Comments

• sevenhills
    sevenhills Posts: 5,922 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    edited 22 February at 7:31AM
    Options
    \i'm not sure; I'm not a mechanic. 
    The car was fourteen years old, I don't know if they had been replaced before.
    However if the pothole accelerated the demise of an ageing part to me (and i believe a court) that is still something the council is liable for as had I not hit the hole it may not have occured. The fact that this happened in the aftermath of hitting the hole would have to be a huge coincidence.

Things such as - New front suspension links + labour cost 
    New shock absorbers + labour costs are regular items that are replaced at the MOT, very few people will sue for compensation.
    On my car the front Coil spring was fractured and replaced in 2020, but just one side.
    Perhaps you should know more and understand these issues?

• LightFlare
    LightFlare Posts: 584 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    edited 22 February at 9:57AM
    Options
    £366.01 
    Included 

New front suspension links + labour cost 
    New shock absorbers + labour cost

The video I have shown them quite clearly shows the front left of the car dip into the hole and I'm only going at walking pace (2mph)

Surely any damage caused by a pothole would only cause damage to one side, or did the pothole cover the entire width of the road?
    How old is the car, have these shock absorbers been replaced before etc.
    However if the pothole accelerated the demise of an ageing part to me (and i believe a court) that is still something the council is liable for as had I not hit the hole it may not have occured. The fact that this happened in the aftermath of hitting the hole would have to be a huge coincidence.

I hope you have something a bit more definite than this.

Have you anything to suggest would not?

On a 14 year old car, those parts were likely at or near end of life anyway.