Using a family member to help reduce tax bill.

Options
Hi 
I'm a self employed sole trader.  I have some work which a family member who lives with me  can do and I can pay them a weekly wage.  

Can this wage be taken away from how much I earn?

I will go pass the higher tax threshold this year. But if I give this work to them and pay them then I will be under the threshold.  

How do I go about doing this? Can I still stay as sole trader or do I need to set something else up? 

Thanks

Comments

• sheramber
    sheramber Posts: 19,239 Forumite
    First Anniversary I've been Money Tipped! First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    How much will you be paying them?

Do they have any other income?
  • pramsay13
    pramsay13 Posts: 1,956 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Yes you can do it. Politicians do it all the time.

You can decide if you want to become their employer or if they will also be self employed and sort their own tax etc. 

If the work is there to be done then it makes sense. If, however, you are trying to find a way to reduce your income you are better increasing your pension contributions. 
  • BikingBud
    BikingBud Posts: 1,755 Forumite
    Photogenic First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    pramsay13 said:

You can decide if you want to become their employer or if they will also be self employed and sort their own tax etc. 

If the work is there to be done then it makes sense. If, however, you are trying to find a way to reduce your income you are better increasing your pension contributions. 
    What's good for the goose as they say.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    pramsay13 said:

Not great advice I am afraid - the ‘employer’ doesn’t get to decide if those working for him or her are self-employed. 

A family member only working for one person-  another family member - may have some difficulty in proving their self-employed status in the eyes of HMRC.