Wholefood Plant Based Diet And Health Journey

Options

Comments

• MrsStepford
    MrsStepford Posts: 1,636 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    edited 12 August 2023 at 2:16PM
    Options
    During Lockdown I started taking nutrition courses from universities, online. (I was a college-trained former chef already) and I have completed my first year of a degree course in nutrition. 

I was a vegetarian for about fourteen years, myself. My mother has been vegetarian since 1982. She's the unhealthiest person I know, with heart disease, osteoporosis, anaemia, Raynaud's disease, chronic constipation and migraines

A vegan diet lacks some of the amino acids which we need for protein and body repair work. Vegetarian and vegan diets are usually lacking in Vitamin B12.

My late father was a vegetarian 1982-2010. Didn't stop him getting heart disease, prostate cancer and osteoarthritis. 

When I was a vegetarian there were zero processed foods for us. Now, there are zillions. It's possible to be an obese or overweight vegetarian or vegan now when years ago, veggie types were usually slim.

Smoothies rarely contain protein. They are often devoid of the fibre which actual fruit and vegetables have. Having a smoothie for breakfast plays havoc with blood glucose, spiking it, even for people without diabetes. Smoothies are a Californian 'health' fad. 

• leftatthetrafficlights
    leftatthetrafficlights Posts: 1,524 Forumite
    edited 13 August 2023 at 6:36AM
    Options
    During Lockdown I started taking nutrition courses from universities, online. (I was a college-trained former chef already) and I have completed my first year of a degree course in nutrition. 

I was a vegetarian for about fourteen years, myself. My mother has been vegetarian since 1982. She's the unhealthiest person I know, with heart disease, osteoporosis, anaemia, Raynaud's disease, chronic constipation and migraines