No notice shop closure, confused and overwhelmed

I was on holiday and had a phone call to come into work today so had to drive 110 miles to get back. When I got in the boss of the shop I have been working at for 13 years hands me a letter and says from today the shop will be closed and I don't have to worry because my job is safe and I will be now working in another one of their shops 13 miles away.
They know I don't drive and will be an additional 3 hours round trip every day and £30 on bus fares as it was within 5 minutes walking currently. I have been off with anxiety related stress before in the past and have said I don't think it is reasonable to expect I will be able to do this. I have been working 40+ hours a week for the last 4-5 years on a 20hr contract and have been told because my contracted hours is only 20 hours that's all they offer me at this new shop.
I was then told that no redundancy is offered as they think this new position is reasonable like for like.

I would appreciate any advice as I suddenly find myself overwhelmed as what to say or turn .

Comments

• elsien
    elsien Posts: 32,235
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Forumite
    edited 14 February 2023 at 6:42PM
    So 1 1/2 hours there, and the same back again?  How are your 20 hours spread out and how many days will you now be working?

It is potentially stretching the limits of reasonable alternative employment- you are entitled to take a 4 week trial before deciding. If your employer continues to insist that it is reasonable, you need to put up a good argument as to why it isn’t to get your redundancy pay.

https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/work/redundancy/check-your-rights-if-youre-made-redundant/redundancy/your-employer-offers-you-another-job/
    All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well.

Pedant alert - it's could have, not could of.