All investments in same 1 or 2 funds?

Hi folks. So I'm new to investing and after doing some research on options for saving and retirement I now have the following.. 

ISA with vanguard (LS100) 

LISA with dodl (hsbc ftse all world)

Firstly I was thinking of switching the LS100 to the vanguard global all cap. As after reading their own articles it seems they themselves say they wouldn't have such a weighting to the UK and its partly for marketing. Also personally not sure the UK is going to do that well in comparison to the world.. 

Then I was also considering a SIPP (I already match my employers contributions and it isn't SS)

My question is, is the idea these funds are diversified so much it wouldn't be too much of a problem to just pick between them for multiple products? 

For example if my isa was vanguard global all cap. And my Lisa is hsbc ftse all world. If I open a SIPP with whoever has the lowest fees and pick one of those same funds, is that all the eggs in two baskets and so problematic, or.. Are those baskets so wide it doesn't exactly matter? 

Replies

• El_TorroEl_Torro Forumite
    1.1K Posts
    Eighth Anniversary 1,000 Posts
    Forumite
    Both funds are very well diversified. There’s a lot of overlap between the two (both will invest a lot in Apple, to give an example) but there’s not really any harm in having both, or  even reducing to one.

I’m not really a fan of VLS100. You’ve already explained the main downside, so as long as you’re happy with what you’re getting that’s fine.
  • bd10bd10 Forumite
    333 Posts
    Seventh Anniversary 100 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Forumite