Operation Mortgage Free

Options
Hello,

I used to post on this forum when my career was first starting out after university, saddled with debt - it was really helpful. Looking back I managed to clear debt fairly quickly but I remember it being very hard as we pushed ourselves with a mortgage of £1100 a month on a house we bought off plan for £182k….then there was the financial crash. I was a trainee earning £15k a year. Looking back on my old account which I’m frozen out of:

Lightbulb Moment : March 2008 @ £7512.77
Total Debt : [strike]£6912.77[/strike] [STRIKE]£6512.77[/STRIKE] [strike]£5987.00 [/strike]
[STRIKE]£3701.00[/STRIKE] [STRIKE] £1,150[/STRIKE] £357.00

DEBT FREE TARGET DATE December 2010

Fast forward which seems like a blink of an eye….3 kids later and the career has gone well. We built our own house in 2017 using a self build mortgage borrowing about £350k

That mortgage is now £303k and my plan is to clear that in 5 years maximum. It feels like a massive challenge, but I like a challenge. This will be my journey and somewhere to refer to, to help with discipline. I have a wife who likes to spend ….so wish me luck! 

I am allowed to pay down 10% per year - mortgage rate is 1.79% until May 25. I understand logic of saving rather than paying if saving rate is more than 1.79% but am I better saving it all then paying off in may 25 or using the 10% allowance each year? Any help appreciated cheers :)

Comments

• IAAM
    IAAM Posts: 95 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    edited 11 November 2022 at 11:16PM
    Options
    Hi

I looked into savings rates a few days ago and they significantly outweigh my own 1.64% mortgage rate**. That being the case, it just doesn't make financial sense to me to make OPs to my mortgage account directly. 

(I've found a 5% pa regular saver, a 4.5% one and some 3.5% ones)