Any tips for creating passive income as a student?

I am a full-time student, living independently in central London, struggling to find part time work and so my monthly income is currently 0. I don't have any support from family or anything like that so I suffer from financial anxiety. I live off of my current account in which I have money from my previous maintenance loan. I don't pay rent as my scholarships covers rent and other utility costs until late next year, to which my contract ends. My monthly expenses are around £800, I am trying to cut down on unnecessary expenses. I am waiting for my maintenance loan, and the total for that should be around £12,000 (it comes in installments). I have also applied for some grants within my university, if approved I could get anything from £1k - 3.5k this year, but that totally depends on chance.

That aside I've been looking small risk investments/ interest savings account to boost my monthly income. I have around £1,800 in emergency funds in another bank, but the interest rate on that is really low: 1% AER/Gross p.a. (variable). 

What are some other ways I can use this money in a productive way or what other ways accounts would you suggest I open? I want to create some small passive income every month with no monthly fees. I just don't like the idea of my money being idle whilst inflation just eats away at its real value. I don't mind small long term investments as I plan to stay in the UK at least by 2025.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Roz81
    Roz81 Posts: 14 Forumite
    First Post
    It's not passive - but as a student I used to give grinds.
    You can earn some serious cash dishing out grinds to school kids.  Especially if you group 2 or more together for one lesson.

I studied languages in uni so was able to give lessons to kids studying French and German in exam years.  Cash in hand

B)
  • Roz81 said:
    It's not passive - but as a student I used to give grinds.