Options

Comments

• molerat
    molerat Posts: 32,020 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    edited 24 May 2022 at 7:30PM
    Options
    Timbobmit said:
    Thanks for all that & Sorry for troubling you when they were correct from the start, but makes me feel better knowing I’m not losing out somewhere.

But now hopefully you understand why :)
  • Hodgie
    Hodgie Posts: 23 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I came across this (by accident) in late 2021.  I had been recieving my state pension for three years and my wife, for just a year.  We rang the appropriate HMRCs and in both cases, they knew exactly what we wanted.  
    I received my statement first which was to pay just over £215 to get an additional £9.90 per week.  It was a no-brainer.  I was more surprised when I was given back pay.
    My wife's needed a little more thought but we decided to go with it.  After being paid her backpay it worked out that she paid just over £2k for and additional £27 per week.
    In both cases we took into account income tax and life expectancy.
    Perhaps people should be given a statement as they approach state pension age.
  • PattayaPete
    Options
    OK so I paid for six years of missing years on my NI record when I was abroad. HMRC received the payments in early March and informed DWP. Nearly three months later DWP have not updated my pension to take into account the extra years.
    Is this wait normal or is this just another blockage in the Civil Service post COVID?
  • Kindalon
    Options
    molerat said:
    Kindalon said: