Long time lurker with some decisions to make

Options
Good morning everyone,,, long time lurker here, 
Ive been making overpayments for the last 10 years on my mortgage, which has spanned accross  3 home moves, our current home is worth just under 500k at current prices i would guess... and being mortgage free will this year be a reality once my tie in period is finished in november this year, as i plan to repay the outstanding balance which by then will be circa 140k....
However im starting to second guess myslelf, its been a target ive set my self since turning 30 to be mortgage free by 40,,, that date has been and gone and i will turn 43 in august, but the reason i am second guessing myself is im half thinking do i continue making the overpayments (1k per month) and invest the money i was going to pay it off with elswhere,, to note i also have a BTL worth around 130k, with a interest only mortagage of circa 40k, (the rent payments are paid off the capital monthly) and no other debt, i like to think im quite savvy with money, and i guess thats probably part the reason i have a niggling to not use the 140k in that way...
FYI i have not come into money its been through hard work and sacrifice, working in some !!!!!! hole countries and offshore whilst spending months away from family at a time off and on... any educated opinions are most welcome. 

Comments

• L9XSS
    L9XSS Posts: 438 Forumite
    First Anniversary Mortgage-free Glee! Name Dropper First Post
    Options