Live to earth fault following bathroom flood

Options
My MIL had a leak from her upstairs bathroom cistern that flooded into the room below and was also dripping out of the ceiling light fitting.

The insurance folk are working on this, but she had an electrician out earlier today to inspect the damage and carry out some tests. He has told the insurers that he there was a live to earth fault affecting various circuits (that he isolated to make safe). The insurers have stated that they do not feel this fault is related to the claim and advised her not to reinstate the circuits until repairs/rewire has been completed.

I should maybe point out that the electrician somehow managed to give himself a shock by pressing the light switch in the room that was flooded….I’m no expert but surely a degree of caution is advisable when electricity and water mix.

My MIL is now not sure how to proceed as the insurers seem to be washing their hands of the electrical claim and have left a 77 year old on her own with over half the house with no power.

Is it possible/likely that this fault was present before the flood or is the water leaking all around the ceiling and out of the light fitting more likely to be the cause?
"We act as though comfort and luxury are the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about” – Albert Einstein

Comments

• coffeehound
    coffeehound Posts: 5,674 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Options
    How long since the flooding occurred?  If the floor/ceiling is still wet then I'd have assumed water in junction boxes etc could be directly causing the short.  Especially when combined with dust and debris.  I'm no electrician nor insurance expert but would have thought the building and electrics need time to thoroughly dry out before a conclusive decision can be made.  In the best case, the problem might then go away
  • Clive_Woody