I own 2 properties - £22k payment coming my way - what should I do with it?

Options
Hi all,

Complete newbie here. I've signed up to ask just one question and hopefully gain some sound advice to hopefully help me take a big step towards become mortgage free.

The scenario...I am planning on selling my car soon and expect to receive around £32k for it. I will be keeping around £10k to purchase another car meaning I'll have around £22k left which "I don't need" for anything anytime soon.

The question is how do I best make use of this cash? I have 2 properties with further details below.

Property 1 - BTL
Purchased in 2011 - was my home until we moved 3 years ago
Remaining mortgage balance of £24k and 7 years left.
I am currently on a 2 year fixed term and have 12 months remaining
The interest rate is 2.04%
Monthly mortgage payments are £355
Monthly rental income is £506

Property 2 - Main Residence
Purchased 12 months ago (March 2021)
The remaining mortgage balance is £97k and 19 years left
I am currently on a 2 year fixed term and have 12 months remaining
The interest rate is 3.13%
Monthly mortgage payments are £570
  • Should I use the money to fully clear the mortgage on the BTL (would add £2k from savings) and then use the rental income to make overpayments on our main property which would mean we pay around £1k per month and have the mortgage fully cleared in 9 or 10 years if we stick to the £1k per month.
  • Should I leave the BTL as it is and let the rental income pay the mortgage on the BTL and have it cleared in 7 years naturally and instead use the £22k to make a lump sum payment on the main residence mortgage which would reduce the term left significantly