Is this damp?

Options
Recently spotted the patches in a corner of a room, seems like small mould circles and also right in the corner 

I popped my head out the window and can see guttering around/above the area. I suspect it could be related to overflowing guttering that needs replacing. Any advice?

Comments

• canaldumidi
    canaldumidi Posts: 3,511 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Options
    Photo of guttering?
    And if it's overflowing in autumn, more likely just needs leaves clearing out!
  • daivid
    daivid Posts: 1,237 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    Options
    Do you get condensation in that room? Is it next to a bathroom or are you drying clothes in there? The guttering could be the cause, and whilst I'm no expert I would expect more dramatic mould if caused by water ingress. 

For now I'd wipe down with some dilute bleach or vinegar and clean out the gutter of leaves/debris, then see how soon it returns.
  • VT41
    VT41 Posts: 70 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    daivid said:
    Do you get condensation in that room? Is it next to a bathroom or are you drying clothes in there? The guttering could be the cause, and whilst I'm no expert I would expect more dramatic mould if caused by water ingress. 

For now I'd wipe down with some dilute bleach or vinegar and clean out the gutter of leaves/debris, then see how soon it returns.
    Thanks for your reply.

It is next to the bathroom yes however from what I can see there isn't much condensation in the bathroom as we keep the windows open/extractor fan during showering. 

Condensation is on the windows yes in this room where the picture is taken. According to my ( albeit cheap Amazon) humidity monitor its says 78%
  • Bendy_House
    Bendy_House Posts: 4,756 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper
    edited 30 October 2021 at 9:10AM
    Options
    Hi VT.