Protection on purchase of new car under section 75a

Options
Hi all, newbie here but looking for some advice regarding protection of the purchase of a new car under section 75a.  The car I'm interested in is over £30,000 so cant be protected under section 75.  However, from my understanding if I get a loan on the vehicle setup by the dealership I would be protected under section 75a.  I've  explained this to the dealer and that the loan could be for as little as £1 for me to be protected (which I believe is true?) and they seemed a little sceptical but agreed in person before I left the dealership that we could do the loan for £1 and I would pay the rest as cash. They sent me a link to pay for a deposit but I wanted the agreement for the loan in writing but they've now said the minimum loan amount on one of their vehicles is £4000.  Anyone have any experience of this?  Am I in a position to say, I want the loan for £1 or i'll walk or is this a standard procedure that I would have to take a much larger loan the I even need and incur the loan costs just to protect my purchase.  I've heard a few horror stories where a car has gone wrong and the manufacturer has point blank refused to change the car and denied anything is wrong with the car.  The last thing I want to do is spend such a huge amount of money on a car and then run into this kind of issue.  Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!

Comments

• Keep_pedalling
    Keep_pedalling Posts: 16,646 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    No finance company will do such a small lone. Why would any company take on such a silly risk.

You are buying a new car with a manufacture backed warrantee covering several years, and you are free to use any main dealer to carry out warranty repairs, so what more protection do you need.
  • DrEskimo
    DrEskimo Posts: 2,348 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options