default notice updates

Hi all,

I'm brand new to all this so please forgive me if I am posting in the wrong area or what have you.

During 3 years of homelessness due to illness, I defaulted on my Amex credit card. Within they're rights, I now have a default notice on my credit file.
I am now in a repayment plan with them and hopefully in a few years time this will be behind me.

However.. The default notice credit limit remains at £7700. Showing on my credit file as credit that is not only available to me, but also each money I am over my credit amount as the debt its self is over £9000. This paints me in a very poor light to potential new creditors. As if the default notice itself was not damaging enough.
The account in questions was closed in 2018 and it shows on all my new statements as having zero credit available. Amex say they do not need to update the default notice, it must remain true to the date of the default.

But by not reporting it as zero credit available, is it not just telling a lie on my credit reports. I do not have £7700 of credit.  Can some please advice me? 

Also can default notices be served on Po Box addresses? I know that CCJ notices can't be.

Thank you in advance for any advice on this matter.

Comments

• ThisnotThat
    ThisnotThat Posts: 500 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    No lender is going to read it the way you are doing.

Reporting it like this is fine, you defaulted which is far worse than being over your limit.
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,839 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Your confusing "default notice", "default balance" and "default" they are three separate things altogether.