Furloughed due to lack of work.

Carlisle1967Carlisle1967 Forumite
4 Posts
First Post
MoneySaving Newbie
Hello all.
I have been on furlough since March last year and as I work in the construction industry it is not as affected as other sectors.
I have been employed with this company for 20 years I am now on what my boss says is flexible furlough which seems to mean I am basically called in with little or no notice for maybe half a day here or there.
Last year I started doing my own work and have registered as self employed for this, this is not against anything in my current contract and luckily I am pretty busy at the moment.
The other thing is we have no child care so one of us has to do the school run and as my other half works and can pick up extra shifts it makes planning things difficult if I have things booked in that I am expected to attend with little notice.
Again I am furloughed due to lack of work rather than not being able to work, I know he doesn’t want to pay out for our redundancy but he seems to have lost interest in the company about 5 years ago anyway.
So my questions are.
Does flexible furlough mean I can be called in for any amount of time at with little or no notice?

Replies

• Grumpy_chapGrumpy_chap Forumite
    7K Posts
    Seventh Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    Does flexible furlough mean I can be called in for any amount of time at with little or no notice?
    Yes, pretty much.
    https://www.gov.uk/guidance/claim-for-wage-costs-through-the-coronavirus-job-retention-scheme#when-furlough
    You need to be available to work for your employer, but it is odd that there is so little work given most of the construction business is busy now.