How badly will this affect my credit file?

Options
Hi, noob here!

Brief background: For years I was irresponsible with credit and terrible at managing my repayments but after a CCJ and several collection agencies taking over I’ve finally taken charge and am seeing some success by using the debt snowball approach. Now, after working a second job during lockdown I actually have some extra cash to put toward clearing debt and I can probably even close a couple of accounts, which will be a huge step forward for me. 

My question is if I can negotiate a reduced settlement payment what kind of effect will it have on my credit report? Rebuilding that is one of my main goals, so I might be willing to take longer to fully pay off the full amount if it helps me out in the long run but, on the other hand, why pay more if I don’t actually need to? Any money saved can go on to other debts. One of my accounts I was considering making an offer on is quite old and no longer appears on my credit report. Am I right in thinking that a reduced settlement on this account will not have any impact at all if the debt doesn’t even show up? If that is the case I have nothing to lose by making an offer, surely?

Any advice is readily welcomed.  Being financially responsible is new territory for me so please let me know if I’ve misunderstood how this all works!

Thank you.

Comments

• ThisnotThat
    ThisnotThat Posts: 500 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    If the debt is not being reported then the settlement won't be reported either.
  • RandyTBagge
    Options
    If the debt is not being reported then the settlement won't be reported either.
    Thank you. And for a debt that is on my file? Would a reduced settlement be detrimental to my overall standing or would the closed account negate that?
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 0 Newbie
    Photogenic First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    edited 26 May 2021 at 1:15PM
    Options