Best UK Account To Receive USD

Options
Hi all!
I have recently accepted a job for a US company where I will be working remote in the UK (I am a UK resident).
I have a Halifax current account and they seem to charge fees for receiving foreign transfers and their own currency conversion can differ to the 'standard' rate.
Looking into this myself, one option was to open an account with an account with someone like TransferWise. The idea being I can then 'hold' the USD and move to my UK Halifax account when the rate is in my favour. However if I then transfer this money to my Halifax account, then surely I'll end up paying fees anyway?
Does anyone have any suggestions as to the best way I can receive a USD salary paying as little in fees as possible and benefiting from the best conversion?

Comments

• PRAISETHESUN
    PRAISETHESUN Posts: 3,728 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    edited 21 May 2021 at 2:35PM
    Options
    There are a few recent threads on similar subjects to this, so I'd have a quick search and see what see you can find. I can give a positive vote for Wise though, having used them in the past. I wouldn't recommend using them to hold money for any substantial period of time as they lack FSCS protection - just use them to get paid in USD and send immediately to your Halifax account at the much better conversion rate. Fineco is another one that comes up regularly and seems well received. Revolut also works, but they have a very poor reputation for customer support - they work fine until there is a problem but when something goes wrong (ie. they freeze your account for no well explained reason) then that is the least of your worries - I personally would avoid them.

Outside of that, a USD account with a UK bank such as HSBC might be another option, although as you've already discovered they don't offer the best conversion rates or the lowest fees.
  • Radicalrooster
    Options