New Post Advanced Search

How much deposit is reasonable?

3 replies 151 views
Hope I've got this in the right category - guess someone will tell me if I haven't (newbie here . . . )
The windows at the front of my house are shot - we last had them replaced 37 years ago and they haven't fared well - we have bowls on the living-room window ledge to catch the rain that gets blown in . . . 
A representative of a certain large double-glazing company (no names, no pack drill . . . ) came a-knocking a couple of weeks ago asking if I was interested in a quote on replacement windows so within the hour I had a salesman in the house putting on his best smarm. Took the measurements, entered the details on his i-Pad and showed me the price on the screen. It said 'Under Sold' in big red letters so he said he'd have to ring his sales manager to see if he was allowed to sell at that price. The sales manager wanted to talk to me, knocked a huge amount off because they already had work to do in my area and said he'd send a surveyor to measure up properly for the new windows. I know the script - we bought some other windows from them years ago - they put the price up to take it off and make you think you're getting a good deal. As it happened, I was going to buy anyway because I needed windows and it seemed the least hassle to buy from them.