Unfair pooling and actions

Options
I have currently been selected to be tupe into an out sourcer and I am currently in quite a heated confrontation with my current HR team.
Now I am challenging the decision as I am a manager who looks after the team and does general high level activities.

The job being offered is of a business analyst/developer role and I stop being a developer 2 years ago.  The job description I have for it does not fit with my current job description or my day to day roles and responsibilities.

They are forcing me to choose between resigning or move to a reduced status role on which I very likely need training and support to be able to do the requires role.

Now I have a few grievances with the whole process:
- my team were notified while I was on holiday and one of them told me over text.  The company made no attempt to contact me till I raised it with my boss and at this point i told him my grandad died the day before.  On returning to work I agree with my manager to change these days to bereavement.  In my recent exchange with hr I brought this up and they are trying to cover themselves by saying they knew about my grandad but I have the trail proving otherwise as to them I was on holiday.
-my main grievance is the loss of status and forced to accept a role I which my current job description and responsibilities do not map and so far my request for this information has been ignored.
- for context 2 weeks after my grandad dieing I have now got the news that my dad's cancer has spread and he is on chemo to extend life.  We find out in 2 weeks if it working 😢.