Dividend strategy musings

I am very new to investing but have been thinking about the below which "to my mind" seems a good idea for retirement.

This would be in addition to my pension.

Is the below a waste of opportunity?

To build up a portfolio of UK blue chip stocks when the dividend yield is around 6% (maybe a little less sometimes) or higher in an isa

My thoughts are when you get to retirement you can withdraw 6% tax free each year in addition to pension without tax or depleting the balance.

From my limited research it is rare for these companies to go completely bust, although they may get bought out or merged (which is not necessarily a bad thing) and once you have the yield locked in the share price is immaterial to the dividend payout.

I understand that dividend payouts could be reduced or halted but it seems that mainly they go up very slightly over time, so even with some variances the 6% should be achievable.

Comments

• AnotherJoe
    AnotherJoe Posts: 19,622 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    "1990 called and wants its (outdated) investment approach back"
    Search for HYP investing
    As for your comments that "I understand that dividend payouts could be reduced or halted but it seems that mainly they go up very slightly over time" you are looking in the rearview mirror. Look in the windscreen.

• Prism
    Prism Posts: 3,797 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    You can check the amount of dividend cuts to the FTSE 100 just this year
    Dividend Cuts - FTSE 100 (dividenddata.co.uk)
    That doesn't take into account any dividends that were frozen from previous years and did not go up or any that did go up but not by inflation.

• Alexland
    Alexland Posts: 9,653 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    edited 29 December 2020 at 8:07PM
    In terms of tax a pension is almost always better than an ISA for retirement money.