Please help me understand why bonds might be better- or worse- than cash.

Options
Ray_Singh-Blue
Ray_Singh-Blue Posts: 511 Forumite
First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
edited 27 December 2020 at 10:45PM in Savings & investments

Hi all. I have been hanging around these parts for a few years now, and have settled on the following asset allocation:

50% stocks, 50% bonds.

EXCEPT that so far, I haven’t been brave enough to buy bonds. The defensive, fixed income part of my portfolio remains in cash.

My thinking has been this:

A. As an individual, rather than an institutional investor, I have the option to use savings accounts rather than buy bonds or bond funds. So, I can save at 1.35% interest, rather than buy a 2 year UK Government Gilt yielding -0.16%

B. Most bonds pay a fixed interest rate that becomes more attractive as interest rates fall, driving up demand and the price of the bond. If interest rates rise, investors will no longer prefer the lower fixed interest rate paid by a bond, resulting in a decline in its price.

C. Interest rates are at historic lows, near zero or even below in some places. It is possible that they might drop further, but this would my knowledge be unprecedented & so I do not wish to bet on this happening. I think it is more likely they will rise than fall, in my investing lifetime.

Putting A + B + C together, I have so far opted for cash rather than bonds. Hoping for better returns.

The problem is that I have been WRONG WRONG WRONG, and I cannot work out why.

For example, UK interest rates rose in 2017 (from 0.25% to 0.5%) and again in 2018 (from 0.5% to 0.75%) and remained static in 2019. So I would have expected the value of bond funds to drop. Yet Vanguard’s UK government bond index returned over 4% per year during this period.

By comparison, my cash savings returned about 1.5% per year.