Client to offer shares in business

I'm an IT consultant, LTD company, outside ir35, working with existing client for a couple of years, contract ends in Oct next year.
Background, I was a joint director of another company of 11 staff providing hosting/dev support to this client (around 8 years) and a number of others. I'm no longer dir of this company, started out on my own but this client has taken me on to provide same service.

Client now wishes to give me 10% shareholding. IR35 is one issue which im looking at, but main question is tax. How does it affect me? Is it only when I come to sell shares? I presume they cant just 'give' them away, director isnt in best of health either. Think theyre looking to float company in next few years. Just dont want to be hit with a huge tax bill! No idea what shares are worth, client around £2.5m turnover / £500k profit

Comments

• I am quite interested in the outcome of this.  I expect my company to approach a management buyout, funded by our bank at some point in the future.

Like you, when I looked into this it did seem that there would be a substantial tax liability should the shares/equity not be bought, but offered.

Are share options a possibility?  I understand this guarantees the ability to buy shares at a set price for a limited period of time (I believe up to 10 years), meaning the outlay doesn't need to be made right now.

I'll defer to someone who knows more than I...
  • Steve182
    Steve182 Posts: 623 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    edited 2 October 2020 at 11:07PM
    I know nothing of  your business or IR35 but I can tell you of my experience.