Going back to uni to do PGDE at 43 years old

Hi All,

I've been working in retail as a senior manager for the last 20-odd years since graduating from Edinburgh Uni. Always wanted to do secondary teaching but never had the balls to quit my job and go for it. Now I've been made redundant I feel like I've been given this excellent opportunity, so I'm going to apply for next year's intake.

I have a 2:1 geography degree (split evenly between physical and human), so I'm going to apply to Edinburgh, Glasgow and Strathclyde to do my PGDE.

I have experience as a Scout Leader, but not for the last 15 years or so (basically my work schedule made any volunteering almost impossible). I also spent 2 weeks at my old high school when I was 21 and thinking of going into teaching then - decided I was too young and didn't have enough life experience at that stage, but always said I would aim to come back to it in later life. The current Covid situation I presume makes doing school visits or anything like that out of the question, although I'm still going to ask around local schools.

I had a brief look at the current National 5 cirriculum, it's clear I have a lot of brushing up to do as my geography knowledge is 20 years old now! But at least I have the next year to do that in preparation.

Any other mature students / returners on here that could give any hints or tips? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Comments

• billy2shots
    billy2shots Posts: 1,122 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    edited 28 September 2020 at 7:01PM
    I can't give any advice but you are not alone. I'm almost 39 and in the next 3 years I can see myself selling the family business (I helped start it 20 years ago) and going to Uni for the first time. My choice would probably need to be in my field of experience as in Nursing Mental Health/Learning Disabilities.