Setting up business ideas/advice

Hi all,

I’m new to this so go easy.

I have no business experience and was made redundant recently. I’m looking to set up my own business and have been pondering a few ideas recently. Just wondering if there are any thoughts on the following ideas. I’m aware of insurance costs etc but just if there are any other pointers.

I have about 5k, so was thinking along the lines of entertainment, such photo booths, games, bouncy castles for events etc. I would have to start with one decent item and work up from there but feel customer’s would just go to a one-stop-shop to get everything they need and I would struggle?  

Another would be to set up a portable soft play, but again Covid could be a bit of an issue at present.

mobile car valeting -  I like this idea but in reality probably time consuming for little reward?

Are there any good ideas where I can purchase equipment and rent it out that anyone could recommend? 

If I wanted to go bigger,  would I struggle with business grants and loans if I did want to set up a large event hire company for example? 

Any ideas what’s trending or advice would be great! 

Thanks 

Comments

• Mistral001
    Mistral001 Posts: 5,346
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post I've been Money Tipped!
    Forumite
    Mobile car valeting might be your best option out of the above.  If you have the space, doing it at your own home could  get you some the car dealership market.    
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 0
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    edited 14 August 2020 at 11:43AM
    I agree with @Mistral001 there is definately money to be made from car valeting.

OP, the comment about being time consuming with little reward  ...... businesses don't have immediate rewards, those rewards take years to show.