Rough Estimate

I live in a 4 in a block house (4 flats, 2 upstairs, 2 downstairs, kind of like two semi-detached together for people that don't know) and my upstairs neighbour is selling their flat. In the next couple of years we would need to look at moving else where as it is a 2 bedroom flat that we are in, and have kids. What I was wondering was, how much to you think it would cost to convert the two flats, into one house? I have attached a rough drawing, I'm no graphic designer so I only could manage it in paint, but it gives the general jist of things. I was hoping to keep the existing stairs that my neighbour has, but knock through the wall on the inside, to save having to build stairs. With my plan for the upstairs, there isn't much renovating need done, it would only be converting the kitchen and bathroom from upstairs into an additional bedroom, the majority of the work would be on the downstairs flat.

Comments

• I live in a 4 in a block house (4 flats, 2 upstairs, 2 downstairs, kind of like two semi-detached together for people that don't know) and my upstairs neighbour is selling their flat. In the next couple of years we would need to look at moving else where as it is a 2 bedroom flat that we are in, and have kids. What I was wondering was, how much to you think it would cost to convert the two flats, into one house? I have attached a rough drawing, I'm no graphic designer so I only could manage it in paint, but it gives the general jist of things. I was hoping to keep the existing stairs that my neighbour has, but knock through the wall on the inside, to save having to build stairs. With my plan for the upstairs, there isn't much renovating need done, it would only be converting the kitchen and bathroom from upstairs into an additional bedroom, the majority of the work would be on the downstairs flat.