I believe my employer has an incorrect NI Number/overpaid income tax

I'm 23. I received my national insurance number years ago and saved the number on my phone so I wouldn't forget it.
I'm an university student and got a summer job in July 2018 - I work mainly summers but sometimes during half terms (it's in a boarding school).
I was unaware there was such a thing as income allowance, I found out just last friday and I believe I've been paying income tax since I was first employed. 
The most recent payslip I received states my tax code is 0T M1, I checked the tax code meaning it according to gov.uk it the 0T means:
"Your Personal Allowance has been used up, or you’ve started a new job and your employer does not have the details they need to give you a tax code"
The M1 means an emergency tax code, however, in another page it states only these tax codes: 1250 W1, 1250 M1 and 1250 X are emergency codes, so I'm not sure what to make of it.
However, I believe the biggest issue is that I think my employer has an incorrect NI number (one digit is wrong). As I said I save my NI number on my phone so I'm 90% sure the number I have is correct.
Due to the employer having an incorrect NI number I think my tax code is wrong as a result.
What I tried to do so far:
Create and log into a personal income account - I created the account but when I try to log in it says there is a problem: "Your sign in details have not been recognised by HMRC" I contacted HMRC by email (phone service was closed friday night) and they said the that means the details I have provided to the verify agency do not match the details HMRC holds for me.
I tried to confirm my NI number through web chat - They said they couldn't find me on the system.
I filled a form to verify my NI number and sent it by post just now - Apparently it can take 15 days to confirm.

I have a few questions: