Overdraft interest when a student

Options
I'm fully expecting the answer to my query to be a flat 'no!', but I'm embarrassed to ask the bank my query and would prefer to receive the ridicule for asking it anonymously online!

Any replies will be very much appreciated and I hope I've posted this in the right section.

I opened a student account with Natwest in 2005 and was given incrementally an overdraft of £2000. I've never actually used the account for day to day banking other than to use the overdraft and then once the interest free period ended around 2009/10 I have (stupidly) just paid in the monthly interest to ensure I never went above the limit rather than aim to pay off the debt.

I returned to University again for further study and was a full time student between 2013-2017. In all honesty, I was afraid to contact the bank when I was a student again to ask about options in case they requested the overdraft amount back in full immediately and I ended up with a default/CCJ if I couldn't pay (I was hugely financially stressed in those years and on a very low income).

I've been working for the past 18 months or so and during my second time back at university accumulated other debts that I am managing to pay back and are mainly transferred to interest free cards/one low interest loan, but it is difficult.

I'm concerned about the imminent rise in overdraft interest charges and currently don't have a good enough credit rating to open a money transfer card to try and transfer the debt to something interest free.

Is it as completely a preposterous idea as I suspect it is to explain to Natwest that I was a full time student for four years between 2013-2017 and request that they refund some of the interest charged during this time?

Thanks in advance for any replies. Don't be gentle - if what I'm thinking is absurd please confirm it for me.

Brian

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 31,034 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post