NHS ill health retirement

Options
Hi all. I am 31, and have a genetic hypermobility condition that means my hands and arms are becoming weaker and more painful, and have been for around a year. This is a major problem because I’m a dentist. I’m thinking of trying to get ill health retirement, and have two questions you may be able to answer:

1) what do the Tier 1 and Tier 2 pensions mean in practice? From my Total Reward Statement the current value of the 2008 section is £1471 and the 2015 section is £1578. Does that mean I would receive about £3000 a year with Tier 1, or does it mean something else? And how much might Tier 2 be? Nobody can give me an answer so far!

2) If the company I work for (they’re not my employer as dentists are self employed) terminate my contract on health grounds before I’ve applied, can I still apply after that and receive a Tier 1 pension, or would my application then be judged solely on Tier 2 criteria? I have seen some mixed messages about this. 

Thanks in advance!
Amanda

Comments

• Marcon
    Marcon Posts: 10,847 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    edited 18 June 2020 at 11:22AM
    Options
    AmandaEss said:
    Hi all. I am 31, and have a genetic hypermobility condition that means my hands and arms are becoming weaker and more painful, and have been for around a year. This is a major problem because I’m a dentist. I’m thinking of trying to get ill health retirement, and have two questions you may be able to answer:

1) what do the Tier 1 and Tier 2 pensions mean in practice? From my Total Reward Statement the current value of the 2008 section is £1471 and the 2015 section is £1578. Does that mean I would receive about £3000 a year with Tier 1, or does it mean something else? And how much might Tier 2 be? Nobody can give me an answer so far!