M.A. funding bursaries information please

Hello everyone,
Our son is about to  graduate in English from Cambridge University and has won a place at The Royal Academy of Music in September 2020 to do an M.A. in Musical Theatre. Currently he is unable to meet the cost of the course or his living fees in London. The course costs £16,100  and he is able to apply for a maintenance loan of £11,222 so he currently has a shortfall of £4878 to pay for the course fees. The current average living costs for a student in London for a year are £12,000. My husband and I work as a priest and part time primary school teacher so the amount of financial help we can give him is limited. Our son has been in many musical theatre productions at uni, including the Edinburgh Fringe twice, where the later show won a "Derek" award for the Best Musical at the Fringe in 2019. The course is necessary for our son as the M.A. will provide the professional coaching he requires and enable him to make contacts in the theatre to help him move towards his goal to make musical theatre his profession.
I would be very grateful if anyone reading this could give me any advice on bursaries or funding. He is applying for a bursary which if successful will reduce the cost of accomodation in a hall of residence. I am also applying to various clergy family trusts for grants. 
Obviously we are very lucky in many ways given the current situation. However our son has worked extremely hard first to get to university and now onto the MA course and there is now a real danger through lack of funds that he might not be able to take up his place on the course. 
Thank you very much for your time reading this and thank you in advance for any help or advice offered. 

Comments

• I also forgot to say obviously he is currently searching for a summer job and will be looking for a weekend job in London if he is able to take up his place on the course. Thank you again.
  • silvercar
    silvercar Posts: 46,777