Changing sink wast

Options
I have a broken pop up waste on my bathroom sink. I would like to change it for a standard plug on a chain type as there is little to go wrong. Is this a difficult job? I have zero plumbing experience. Can anyone recommend any tutorials please as I have little patience with going through endless youtube videos to watch adverts?
Thanks

Comments

• grumbler
    grumbler Posts: 58,629 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options
    Do you not thing that it's worth posting a photo of what you have under the basin?
    They do videos for a reason. Or tutorials with pictures.

That said, I can imagine that if you just unscrew and take out the plug itself you'll be able to find a traditional plug to match the existing fitting (not sure).
  • Mutton_Geoff
    Mutton_Geoff Posts: 3,822 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    edited 6 May 2020 at 11:49AM
    Options
    JuzaMum said:
    I have a broken pop up waste on my bathroom sink. I would like to change it for a standard plug on a chain type as there is little to go wrong. Is this a difficult job? I have zero plumbing experience. Can anyone recommend any tutorials please as I have little patience with going through endless youtube videos to watch adverts?
    Thanks
    Pop up waste isn't really a plumbing job, but a simple mechanical lever. You may be able to play with it and work it out for yourself. Rod behind tap pushes up and down, levers little rod in side of waste pipe that lifts/drops the pop up waste.
    They get sticky/bent very easily as soon as they get stiff, extra force needed bends the rod.
    See if you can separate the long rod from the shorter one going into the side of the waste pipe, then check to see if moving that up and down operates the pop up.