I shouldn't pay the balance for a holiday that's not going to happen....or should I?

Options
Hi, this is my first time posting, so bear with me; I am at my wits end!
We paid a large deposit on a holiday in January, to a tiny travel company, for a holiday due to begin in late June.
The balance is due in May.  I've contacted the company and explained that we want to cancel our holiday due to all the uncertainty surrounding covid-19, including (but not limited to!) the indefinite ban on all but essential travel (the holiday company is in the UK but the property itself is in Spain). 

The travel company has flat-out refused us a refund of the deposit (paid by BACS as that was the only payment method extended to me-I can't initiate a chargeback).  They've said that-
1. the balance due date remains the same.  We will be able to re-schedule our holiday (which we DON'T want to do, and I have read on the CMA website, we don't have to agree to!), but ONLY if we pay the balance in full first, AND after we pay the balance, we first wait it out to see if restrictions on travel might lift by the end of June.
2. if we do not pay the balance they will consider it a "voluntary" cancellation, and have said that I probably won't be able to make a claim on my travel disruption insurance (which thankfully I do have in place).