Passenger in Life Take 2

So my last diary lasted for about 2 months and ended May 2017.  It’s so bad that I don’t even remember what I have been doing for the last 3 years 🙈 so this is my second attempt at trying to get my life & money sorted. 

Comments

• Poniesatemymoney
    Poniesatemymoney Posts: 25 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    edited 8 April 2020 at 8:28AM

So after 20 yrs of racking up credit card debt on various cards since I was 18 I now have a balance of £10k on one card. This is a good result as I had about £25k on 6 cards 🙈 it’s 0% for another 12 months.

I have a monthly expenditure card which gives me cash back and I normally spend about £2k a month on this but I clear it every month.  This covers EVERYTHING I put all food, bills, clothes, tube etc on this.  After I have paid the credit card I have zero left per month (or minus) and really I should be saving and also paying back that £10k.

I have an expensive car on finance (definitely not frugal but needed with horses) and my mortgage payment (also huge).  This accounts for 50% of my salary.

I am very lucky and have a great lifestyle but it is funded on debt.  I’m at an age now where really I can’t live like I’m in my 20s.  

So I will use this lock down period to reassess what is important in my life and cut the excess.  

Contemplating whether I should be trying to break down the £10k and pay some off monthly or take advantage of the % and start saving £10k in another bank account? Or chuck into an ISA and withdraw when I need to pay next year? 

Hope everyone is keeping sane during lockdown!

• Hey! Love the name lol, thankfully mines just gone out to the field so will hopefully eat a little less money!