Millionaire in training has a new name

in Debt free diaries
4 replies 211 views
shazanne_2shazanne_2 Forumite
29 Posts
Part of the Furniture 10 Posts Combo Breaker
Hi folks. I haven't been on here in a long time. I can't even get in to the account I was using most recently. So I am going to look at this as a fresh start and get my life in order once and for all. I'm a single 54 yr old female. I have two grown up children who still live at home but both wanting to get their own places. I don't have debts except for credit cards, my car and my mortgage. However cc is at £23,674.36. None of this is on a reduced rate. The highest interest rate is 22.93% and lowest is 18.2%. I don't have a massive amount of spare cash as I am paying almost £550 per month to service the minimum payments. I do however have a decent job and was recently promoted which has brought in some extra money. It has also resulted in £135 per month travel expenses so it's not all good. 
I'm also still a fat git. I have been doing the Cambridge diet and that has been pretty successful for me ( when I stick to it) . I had lost 4 stones but have put a few lbs back on and now at 2 stones and 9lbs lost. Very annoying. A combination of Christmas, an all inclusive holiday and now social distancing. I have paid the £134 for my month's supplies yesterday though so I need to sort myself out and get on track. Need to figure out how to get out and pick my stuff up though. 
I see this thread as my vow to myself that I am going to sort things out. Wish me luck !!


  • shazanne_2shazanne_2 Forumite
    29 Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10 Posts Combo Breaker
    Plan of action whilst in lockdown will be to pay the £135 for my train ticket direct to my most expensive debt. I'll do my best to use up all the food we have already got in the house. I had 27 packet of noodles !! Who even does that? Me obviously. I need to get back to basics and get a shopping list done each week and stop just buying everything in sight. I bought two pairs of shoes the other day online. I only paid £21 for the two pairs in the sale but I actually have about 40 pairs of shoes and I hate shoes!! This is the kind of thing I need to stop doing. I also need to stop booking holidays as soon as anyone mentions a holiday. I'll have a look and see what I have that I can make meals from and get a menu done. Laters x
  • donmayodonmayo Forumite
    3 Posts
    Seventh Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Nice to see you back

  • SarahwithloveSarahwithlove Forumite
    2K Posts
    1,000 Posts Fourth Anniversary Name Dropper
    Have you done a SOA? If you're looking at this as a fresh start it might be worth doing a new one. WHats your credit score like, is there no balance transfer offers you could get?
    *RBS credit card - £1930.50* - £0.00
    *Tesco Credit card - £3604.30* - £0.00
    *Finance - £581.91 - £0.00
    *Dad loan - £5300 - £3800
    *M+S Credit Card - £0
    *MBNA Credit Card - £1211.88 - £0
    *Virgin Credit Card - £3075 - £0
    *Total debt - £3800*
    *Sinking Fund - £2500/£2500*
    *Emergency Fund -£250/£5000*
    *Mortgage Overpayment - £46.90/£1000*
    Premium Bonds - £200/£1000
    Facing Reality - My Debt Free Diary
  • shazanne_2shazanne_2 Forumite
    29 Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10 Posts Combo Breaker
    Hi. Thanks for replies. I’ve actually managed to get back on my other account so will not be using this one. I can’t get any transfers unfortunately. Credit score is shot as well x
This discussion has been closed.
Latest MSE News and Guides

Did you know there's an MSE app?

It's free & available on iOS & Android


Regifting: good idea or not?

Add your two cents to the discussion

MSE Forum

Energy Price Guarantee calculator

How much you'll likely pay from April

MSE Tools